Home

Submit a Kosher Food Store




Learn how to prepare kosher grains and cereals

Kosher Grains and Cereals


Unprocessed grains and cereals are kosher. Processed items (e.g. dry cereals, baked goods) frequently contain small quantities of non-kosher ingredients; therefore Orthodox rabbis advise against consuming such products without a hechsher (mark of rabbinical certification of kashrut) on the product. There are certain items that do not need such certification, such as plain tea, salt, 100% cocoa, carbonated water and coffee. Some Conservative rabbis say that a careful reading of the ingredients is sufficient.

Click here to learn about how Kosher Eggs are prepared.












Permission is granted to copy, distribute and/or modify this document under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License, Version 1.2 or any later version published by the Free Software Foundation; with no Invariant Sections, with no Front-Cover Texts, and with no Back-Cover Texts. A copy of the license is included in the section entitled "GNU Free Documentation License". Content on Wikipedia is covered by disclaimers.